Summer nights of July

Life has consisted of reading the Psalms, Revelation, and love letters written by Jesus.

I’ve been watchin’ a bit of New Girl, building new friendships, and falling more in love with this season in my life.

Several evenings this week I have had the honor of spending quality time with quality people over delicious food and foamy lattes. These conversation have consisted of talking about the faithfulness of God, the beauty of living out singleness well and the honor it brings the Lord. We have discussed testimonies, the redemption of Christ, shared stories and made silly voices. I laughed more this weekend than I have since I arrived.

This week I spent a load of time filling my mind with Kingdom thoughts and Godly truth; I hope my whole life can mirror this week. I hope my growing never stops. I hope to never stop being fascinated by Jesus. I hope to live out this season well.

This week I listened to teachings about William Wilberforce and his dedication to being fascinated by Christ on a daily basis. I decided that this is the type of man I desire to marry. This week I was reminded that a woman should never settle for just not being cheated on and that a man shouldn’t settle for just being freed from sexual addiction.

I have decided that I won’t settle for less than meekness, wisdom, tenderness, restraint, and a self-sacrificial love that is poured out with a prophetic vision for destiny.

I am not one that thinks whole-heartedly-without-a-shadow-of-doubt that one day I will get married-I have no idea. I have decided that I trust the Lord with my future. I have decided that if I do marry I pray that my husband is willing to carve out the optimum condition for my heart to flourish, explode, bloom and blossom. I pray that my husband takes up the challenge to wash me in the word.

“When men fight for her destiny it frees her up to fight for his.” -David Sliker

And if I never marry I know the Lord is enough.

[I usually don’t write posts about things this personal/Christian blog clique but after a week such as this I felt compelled to do so. This is with the hope that somehow my journey encourages others as they walk out their own.]

3 thoughts on “Summer nights of July

  1. I love you beyond the farthest point and forever!! You’re such an inspirationally deposited soul in my life and I’m so blessed to know that God loves me enough that He allowed me to cross your amazing path!! ❤

  2. Dearest Jordyn,

    Thinking of you and wishing you well as you show your authentic and loving self tomorrow in your interview. This will be another growth experience. I know, whether this one or something else, you are going to find job experiences that acquaint you with wonderful individuals and groups and happenings. Just being you is enough!

    A little box coming your way on Thursday, I think. Missed you at Debordieu.

    I love you, Betty

  3. This is a beautiful post, Jordyn.

    The walk of trust in the Lord and surrender of self, particularly when it concerns the earthly relationship we’re taught from so small to covet desperately, is a hard one. It’s a deep breath of cold, fresh air to read these words of yours, the energy to take another small step on my own narrow path.

Leave a Reply

